Wires & Wood

wires and wood

Over The Moon

Winner of the 2010/11 RIANZ Tui for "Best Folk Album"

tui trophy
New Zealand Music Awards spokesperson Campbell Smith says it's great to see bluegrass coming to the fore.

"Music can be about trying new things and challenging yourself, not only in what you play but also what you listen to and enjoy. Wires & Wood has certainly captured that spirit with a powerful album that clearly demonstrates the band's dedication to the genre and excellence in its execution."

Over The Moon - front Over The Moon - back
Prices include Tax and Shipping

Payment via PayPal
If you are outside NZ - $US 19.95

Preview and Purchase
for people in NZ
Listen to samples, purchase individual tracks
or the entire album.

Click to download the original album cover art.

Micheal Young, Dave Warren and Bryan Christianson play mandolin, guitar and banjo respectively, with Alec Healy, Garry Trotman and *Lott* sharing duties on the bass.

We are honoured to have one of New Zealands' finest Dobro® players, Read Hudson, appearing on a number of the tracks.

The album is entitled Over The Moon from the name of a tune written by the band's banjo player, Bryan Christianson. The opening number Bluegrass Heaven was penned by bass player Garry Trotman and the remaining songs are the work of people such as Tim O'Brien, Bob Dylan, Bill Monroe and others.

  • Bluegrass Heaven (Garry Trotman)
  • Love Please Come Home (Leon Jackson)
  • Over The Moon (Bryan Christianson)
  • The Sweetest Song I Sing (Tim O'Brien)
  • Sitting Alone In The Moonlight (Bill Monroe)
  • Nashville Skyline Rag (Bob Dylan)
  • High On A Mountain (Olla Belle Reed)
  • Nellie Kane (Tim O'Brien)
  • Rose of Old Kentucky (Bill Monroe)
  • Amie (Craig Lee Fuller)
  • If I Were King (Robert Earl Keen)
  • Whisky Before Breakfast (Traditional)
  • One More Night (Bob Dylan)
  • Hold Watcha Got (Jimmy Martin)
  • Heartaches (A Hoffman/J Klenner)
  • Highway Forty Blues (Larry Cordle)